How not to get a job…or then ridiculousness ensued

14 February 2009 at 1:44PM Leave a comment

Last summer Natalie at the caution: human being blog was looking to pay good money to someone to help her. Ridiculousness ensued. She documented her frustrations with the applicants in general, and one applicant named Bacon in particular. Here are a few snippets of the conversation:

A couple months ago, I was swamped with freelance work and looking for someone to help me out by doing some work – mostly HTML and CSS. I posted an ad on Craig’s List being pretty specific about what I was looking for. I got a number of responses, most of them with truly awful web portfolios full of web sites built with table-based layouts when I had specifically asked for someone proficient in table-less layouts. Anyway, there were two or three promising prospects in the bunch, so I set about scheduling interviews with them.

Natalie tried to be reasonable with Bacon.  She asked multiple times for code samples, and after much torture, she got him to send a template which Bacon claimed he wrote on his own. When she tried to clarify, Bacon went to a bad place and copped an ego:

Bacon was apparently offended.

by the way, the spacing in the left nav is different reflecting rather or not there are sub items, so there. There is nothing wrong with it. good luck with your “company”.

“So there”?

More ridiculousness ensued. The applicant blocked her e-mails.  She gave up on him.

But then, Natalie received this e-mail:

Natalie,

Should I expect a phone conversation sometime this evening? Please keep me updated.

– Bacon

I swear I could not make this up if I tried. Now he was still expecting me to conduct the phone interview? I was so angry. I vented to a friend who pointed out that if I kept it going Bacon was just crazy enough to continue escalating the situation and driving me mad. At my wise friend’s advice I wrote Bacon:

I’ve selected the person for the position. Thank you for your interest, and good luck to you in the future.

It the hardest email I ever wrote. I typed “So there!” at the end of it, then deleted it at least twenty times before finally hitting the Send button.

See the whole thing here: How not to get a job…or then ridiculousness ensued

Entry filed under: NotJobs. Tags: , , , .

Liz on ’10 Ways to Ruin a Job Interview’ NotJobs: How Not to Get the Recruiter to Call

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Core Ideas

1. "I can't tell you the best way to get a job - because there is no one best way. After 21 years of recruiting, I CAN share things I've seen candidates do to guarantee they DIDN'T get the job."

2. "Most companies don't realize how their recruiting process impacts their candidate pool, and their business. Attention to simple things will result in big improvements."

About the Author

Troy Bettinger, SPHR is a Denver Recruiter, Public Speaker, HR Metrics Analyst and Human Resources Leader who has been recruiting in corporate and municipal environments since 1991.

He specializes in the complete hiring process: defining, sourcing, recruiting, testing, interviewing, offering and orienting new hires. He's also well versed in strategic human resources, college recruiting, diversity recruiting, AAP, EEO, ATS integration, recruiting metrics, social media, recruiting leadership, training and employment branding.

Categories

Denver Jobs Tweets

Archives


